Design Island July 2012

Material connection is central to my practice and my primary interested is in the process of making. For my design objects I take art that you would normally look at and make it into art that you ‘use’. I see my objects as both art and design, that is, DesignArt.

I’m often asked if I am an artist or a designer? Primarily, I see myself as a person who makes things, a maker. If I had to pick one I probably see myself as an artist that designs objects from my paintings. However the objects I make also influence my painting practices. I am interested in collaborating and working with other designers and manufacturers who may wish to use my surface designs on their objects, fabrics, wallpapers and other materials.

The ceramic objects are slip cast Cool Ice porcelain, with glazed interiors and hand polished exteriors with decals. After the slip is first cast, each piece is extensively hand finished by shaping while wet followed by sanding before and after firing and during the application of decals. Every object is unique. The coloured spoons for the condiment dishes and sugar pots are hand formed using recycled slip.

See link below for more information about Mairi and Design Island: http://design-island.com.au/

Ceramics_Image_by_Design_Island(c)Peter_Whyte_2012

Assorted Designs, ceramics and wallpapper. Image by Design Island (c) Peter Whyte 2012

Ceramics_wallpaper_fabric_Image_by_Design_Island(c)Peter_Whyte_2012

Splodge Design, ceramics, light shade and wallpapper. Image by Design Island (c) Peter Whyte 2012

Keyboard Design, ceramics and wallpapper. Image by Design Island (c) Peter Whyte 2012

 

